Honors and Distinctions

2016 Milton van Dyke Award
American Physical Society, Division of Fluid Dynamics,
Visualization Award
for Progressive Monte-Carlo Rendering of Atmospheric Flow Features Across Scales
(with Tobias Günther, Alexander Kuhn, Markus Gross and Holger Theisel)
2016 Election as a Fellow of Eurographics (European Association for Computer Graphics)
“in recognition of outstanding contributions to visualization research and technology transfer, as well as his excellent leadership and service to the Association and beyond”.
2012 Honorable Mention
IEEE Symposium on Biological Data Visualization 2012
for Dynamic Channels in Biomolecular Systems: Path Analysis and Visualization
(with Norbert Lindow, Daniel Baum, and Ana-Nicoleta Bondar)
2012 Best Paper Award
EuroVis 2012 Short Papers
for Vortex Merge Graphs in Two-dimensional Unsteady Flow Fields
(with Jens Kasten, Ingrid Hotz, and Bernd R. Noack)
2011 Honorable Mention
IEEE Visualization 2011
for Voronoi-based extraction and visualization of molecular paths
(with Norbert Lindow and Daniel Baum)
2010 Visualization Award
28th Gallery of Fluid Motion,
American Physical Society, Division Fluid Dynamics,
for Global modes in a swirling jet undergoing vortex breakdown
Physics of Fluids 23, 091102 (2011)
(with Christoph Petz, Kilian Oberleithner, Moritz Sieber, Christian N. Nayeri,
Oliver Paschereit, Israel J. Wygnanski, and Bernd R. Noack)
2009 Visualization Award
27th Gallery of Fluid Motion,
American Physical Society, Division Fluid Dynamics,
for Lagrangian feature extraction of the cylinder wake
Physics of Fluids, 22, 091108 (2010)
(with Jens Kasten, Christoph Petz, Ingrid Hotz, Gilead Tadmor, and Bernd R. Noack)
2003 Appointed as Honorary Professor
by German Film School, State-Approved University for Digital Media Production,
Elstal / Babelsberg, Brandenburg
2002 Visualization Award
20th Gallery of Fluid Motion,
American Physical Society, Division Fluid Dynamics,
for Coherent structures in a transitional flow around a backward-facing step,
Physics of Fluids, 15:9, S2 (2003)
(with Tino Weinkauf, Bernd R. Noack, Michael Schlegel, and Andreas Dillmann)
1999 Offer: Group Leader ‘Scientific Visualization’
Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Saarbrücken
1996 Best Paper Award
IEEE Visualization Conference 1996
for Interactive visualization of 3D-vector fields using illuminated stream lines
(with Malte Zöckler and Detlev Stalling)
1987 Prix Ars Electronica (Award of Distinction in Computer Animation)
1987 Prix Winners: Computer Animation (with Rolf Herken, John A. Berton, Axel Dirksen, Robert Hödicke, Ulrich Weinberg, and Roger Wilson)
1977– 1984 Scholarship from Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes (German Academic Scholarship Foundation)

Comments are closed.