The semester is organized by the Cluster of Excellence Math+, supported by the Einstein Foundation Berlin and will take place at ZIB.


Nataša Djurdjevac Conrad (ZIB)
Benjamin Ducke (DAI)
Friederike Fless (DAI)
Stefan Klus (U Surrey)
Jürgen Kurths (PIK/HU)
Christof Schütte (ZIB/FU)
Stefanie Winkelmann (ZIB)
Sarah Wolf (FU/GCF)

The semester is organized within the framework of the Berlin Mathematics Research Center Math+ and supported by the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

We are committed to fostering an atmosphere of respect, collegiality, and sensitivity. Please read our MATH+ Collegiality Statement.


To register for an event / events within the Thematic Einstein Semester please use the link:


Scope of the Semester

The Thematic Einstein Semester The Mathematics of Complex Social Systems: Past, Present, and Future aims at unlocking the potential for mathematical modeling and reasoning within the extremely large and diversified fields of study that constitute modern Social Sciences and the Humanities. It shall bring together young researchers and experienced scholars from mathematics and other disciplines to focus on complex social systems, with a two-fold focus on agent-based models (ABMs) and data-driven methods. The TES will consist of specific events, continuous activities over the semester, and research visits.

Summer school (9-17 June 2022)

In cooperation with the BMS and the School of Complex Adaptive Systems at Arizona State University, this summer school shall bring together an international and interdisciplinary group of Master and Ph.D. students to learn about different modeling approaches for complex social systems through a series of expert lectures and hands-on workshops. Topics will include agent-based and network models with applications, for example, in opinion dynamics and the evolution of cooperation, as well as economics and archeological research.

Invited teachers will include Joffa Applegate (Arizona State University), Sven Banisch (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology), Renaud Lambiotte (University of Oxford), Iza Romanowska (Aarhus University), Martin Rosvall (Umea University), Ingo Scholtes (University of Wuppertal), and Shade Shutters (Arizona State University).

The application deadline is April 1st, 2022. Further information and application details can be found here.